Runoff Elections Lead to Shakeup on Dallas City Council

DALLAS (WBAP/KLIF News) — The Dallas City Council will officially have four new members.

Mail-in ballots from the weekend’s runoff elections have been counted, making it now official that Mayor Pro Tem Monica Alonzo, Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Erik Wilson, and councilwoman Tiffani Young will no longer be on the council.

They’ll be replaced by Omar Narvaez, Kevin Felder, and Tennell Atkins. Carolyn Arnold lost her spot on the council last month in the main election to Dwaine Caraway.

The mail-in ballots took longer to count because of the ongoing investigation into voter fraud in Dallas County. There were close to 800 still being looked by a bi-partisan board on Sunday.

Voters in two other cities were also able to elect new mayors over the weekend — Kevin Falconer in Carrollton and Robert Dye in Farmers Branch. Pat McGrain was re-elected as the mayor of Keller.


You have not added an image yet. Please upload and apply an image.