Amid a Cancelled Festival Three North Texans Win SXSW Film Awards


Austin, Fort Worth (WBAP/KLIF) – The decades old South by Southwest Festival in Austin was among the first major gatherings canceled by the coronavirus pandemic, but organizers went ahead with one of the festival highlights — its film awards.

Awards were handed out virtually, for a film festival that never happened; winners included 3 North Texans:

Director: Channing Godfrey Peoples of Fort Worth who won a ‘Final Draft Screenwriters Award,’ and two high school seniors won in the Texas High School who won in the ‘Texas High School Shorts’ category:

Director: Miu Nakata who attends Oak Ridge High school in Dallas and plans to study film at UT/Austin, and Director: Kai Hashimoto, who attends Greenhill High School in Addison. 

SXSW wanted to salvage some of the lost exposure and buzz that are vital for independent films. The festival has traditionally played a huge role in casting a spotlight on small indy films, as well as serving as a early springboard for Hollywood projects.

The annual festival was canceled on March 6, about a week before the scheduled kickoff.

From the festival’s website, here is the complete list of winners:


Feature Film Grand Jury Awards

Narrative Feature Competition

Winner: Shithouse
Director: Cooper Raiff

Special Jury Recognition for Directing: Topside
Directors: Celine Held, Logan George

Special Jury Recognition for Acting: Really Love
Director: Angel Kristi Williams
Actors: Kofi Siriboe, Yootha Wong-Loi-Sing

Documentary Feature Competition

Winner: An Elephant in the Room
Director: Katrine Philp

Special Jury Recognition for Achievement in Documentary Storytelling: The Donut King
Director: Alice Gu

Special Jury Recognition for Breakthrough Voice: Finding Yingying
Director: Jiayan “Jenny” Shi

Short Film Grand Jury Awards

Narrative Shorts

Winner: White Eye
Director: Tomer Shushan

Special Jury Recognition for Acting: Dirty
Director: Matthew Puccini
Actors: Morgan Sullivan, Manny Dunn

Special Jury Recognition: Darling
Director: Saim Sadiq

Special Jury Recognition: Single
Director: Ashley Eakin

Documentary Shorts

Winner: No Crying at the Dinner Table
Director: Carol Nguyen

Special Jury Recognition: Mizuko
Directors: Katelyn Rebelo, Kira Dane

Special Jury RecognitionDía de la Madre
Directors: Ashley Brandon, Dennis Höhne

Midnight Shorts

Winner: Regret
Director: Santiago Menghini

Special Jury Recognition: Laura Hasn’t Slept
Director: Parker Finn

Special Jury Recognition for Creature Design: Stucco
Directors: Janina Gavankar, Russo Schelling

Animated Shorts

Winner: Symbiosis
Director: Nadja Andrasev

Special Jury Recognition: No, I Don’t Want to Dance!
Director: Andrea Vinciguerra

Special Jury Recognition: The Shawl
Director: Sara Kiener

Music Videos

Winner: 070 Shake – ‘Nice to Have’
Director: Noah Lee

Special Jury Recognition for Animation: Mitski – ‘A Pearl’
Directors: Saad Moosajee, Art Camp

Special Jury Recognition for Direction: The Lumineers – ‘Gloria’
Director: Kevin Phillips

Texas Shorts

Winner: Just Hold On
Directors: Sam Davis, Rayka Zehtabchi

Special Jury Recognition: Coup d’etat Math
Director: Sai Selvarajan

Texas High School Shorts

** Winner: Wish Upon a Snowman
Director: Miu Nakata – Oak Ridge High school in Dallas

** Special Jury Recognition for NarrativeUltimatum
Director: Kai Hashimoto – Senior at Greenhill High School in Addison

Special Jury Recognition for DocumentaryUnveiled
Director: Sofia Bajwa

Special Jury Recognition for AnimationThe Orchard
Director: Zeke French

Episodic Pilot Competition

Winner: Embrace
Director: Jessica Sanders

Special Jury Recognition for Drama: Chemo Brain
Director: Kristian Håskjold

Special Jury Recognition for Comedy: Lusty Crest
Director: Kati Skelton

Film Design Awards

Excellence in Poster Design

Winner: Laura Hasn’t Slept
Designer: Olivier Courbet

Special Jury RecognitionThe Donut King
Designers: Andrew Hem, Charlie Le

Excellence in Title Design

Winner: See
Designer: Karin Fong

Special Jury Recognition: Why We Hate
Designers: Allison Brownmoore, Anthony Brownmoore

Special Awards

Adam Yauch Hörnblowér Award

Winner: In & of Itself
Director: Frank Oz

Adobe Editing Award

Winner: You Cannot Kill David Arquette
Editors: Paul Rogers, Additional Editing by David Darg

Final Draft Screenwriters Award

Winner: Best Summer Ever
Screenwriters: Michael Parks Randa, Will Halby, Terra Mackintosh, Andrew Pilkington, Lauren Smitelli

Louis Black “Lone Star” Award

** Winner: Miss Juneteenth
Director: Channing Godfrey Peoples from Fort Worth

Special Jury Recognition for PerformanceBull
Director: Annie Silverstein
Actor: Rob Morgan

Special Jury Recognition for DocumentaryBoys State
Directors: Amanda McBaine, Jesse Moss

Vimeo Staff Picks Award

Winner: Vert
Director: Kate Cox

ZEISS Cinematography Award

Winner: Echoes of the Invisible
Director: Steve Elkins

(Copyright 2020 WBAP/KLIF 24/7 News. This report contains material from the Texas Tribune.)

You have not added an image yet. Please upload and apply an image.